Cinnamon Chia Seed Granola

My thought process at Trader Joes: “that huge bag of rolled oats is such a deal compared to the smaller boxes!” Days later I’m annoyed that these rolled oats can’t be cooked well in the microwave to make for a quick and easy breakfast and I embarrassingly had to clean out the mess I made from my oatmeal boiling over in the microwave at work…not to mention I was left hungry and opted to get a bagel instead. So in order to justify my purchase of the oats now that I have gone and bought the 30 serving container if quick oats I starting looking for recipes using rolled oats. I came across a few granola recipes and mixed and matched until I came up with the one below. It’s super quick an easy and will make plenty of servings to last through the week (approx. 4)

Cinnamon Chia Seed Granola
Ingredients:
1 C rolled/old fashion oats
2 tbs chia seeds
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 tbs honey
2 tbs canola oil
Add ins like crasins or other dried fruit

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
Combine all dry ingredients through nutmeg in a bowl.
Stir in honey and oil until well coated.
Spread out evenly over cookie sheet.
Bake for 15 minutes until golden brown, stirring occasionally.
Once cooled, add any additional dried fruit of your choice!

20130127-180418.jpg

20130127-180709.jpg
So easy and much healthier than the store bought versions.
🙂

Leave a Reply

